Skip to content
Argyll and Bute Counts — Argyll and Bute, in numbers.Local help →

Argyll and Bute, in numbers

People and living standards

Argyll and Bute council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Argyll and Bute council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 93,520 in 1991 to 87,310 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Argyll and Bute council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 91,740 people in 1996; 87,310 people in 2025. 4.8% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,520
199291,680
199391,170
199491,910
199591,950
199691,740
199791,720
199891,670
199991,640
200091,050
200191,300
200291,020
200390,930
200490,580
200590,340
200690,860
200790,790
200889,910
200989,450
201088,620
201188,930
201287,170
201388,470
201488,450
201587,850
201688,230
201788,090
201887,590
201987,360
202087,160
202187,960
202287,930
202388,080
202487,780
202587,310
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Argyll and Bute council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,725 people in 1996; 11,882 people in 2025. 33% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,781
199218,223
199318,098
199418,114
199517,989
199617,725
199717,546
199817,507
199917,354
200017,114
200117,052
200216,692
200316,405
200416,149
200515,869
200615,530
200715,359
200815,011
200914,758
201014,515
201114,360
201213,945
201313,580
201413,344
201513,046
201613,024
201712,989
201812,945
201912,956
202012,778
202112,633
202212,519
202312,401
202412,180
202511,882
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Argyll and Bute council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 57,733 people in 1996; 50,637 people in 2025. 12.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199158,729
199257,342
199356,915
199457,558
199557,630
199657,733
199757,788
199857,738
199957,811
200057,346
200157,360
200257,252
200357,249
200456,921
200556,722
200657,337
200757,162
200856,377
200955,889
201054,990
201155,083
201253,010
201354,187
201453,882
201553,355
201653,497
201753,060
201852,455
201951,902
202051,668
202152,107
202251,875
202351,711
202451,209
202550,637
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Argyll and Bute council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,282 people in 1996; 24,791 people in 2025. 52.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,010
199216,115
199316,157
199416,238
199516,331
199616,282
199716,386
199816,425
199916,475
200016,590
200116,888
200217,076
200317,276
200417,510
200517,749
200617,993
200718,269
200818,522
200918,803
201019,115
201119,487
201220,215
201320,703
201421,224
201521,449
201621,709
201722,041
201822,190
201922,502
202022,714
202123,220
202223,536
202323,968
202424,391
202524,791
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 85,953 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Argyll and Bute · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total84,02597.8%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 88,166 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Argyll and Bute · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White86,97198.6%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller960.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group2770.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1150.1%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani1020.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi410%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese1460.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian1610.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British1910.2%
Other Ethnic Group660.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Argyll and Bute council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,127 per person in 1997; £25,370 per person in 2024. 212.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,127
19988,391
19998,345
20009,478
200110,118
200210,537
200310,812
200411,256
200511,835
200612,987
200713,573
200813,911
200914,474
201015,227
201115,353
201215,961
201315,955
201416,091
201516,692
201616,888
201717,646
201818,553
201919,458
202019,322
202119,786
202221,328
202323,381
202425,370
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Argyll and Bute council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -23.4% in 1997; -2.3% in 2024. 21.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Argyll and Bute council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-23.4
1998-22.5
1999-26.2
2000-20.4
2001-18.2
2002-16.7
2003-17.1
2004-17.1
2005-15.8
2006-11.3
2007-11.5
2008-11.7
2009-9.6
2010-5.7
2011-5.8
2012-5.5
2013-8.9
2014-11
2015-12.3
2016-12.3
2017-10.4
2018-9.1
2019-7.7
2020-7.9
2021-9.4
2022-7.1
2023-4.4
2024-2.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

15.5%

20 March 2022 · Argyll and Bute council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Argyll and Bute council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£189,000

July 2026 · Argyll and Bute council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.